top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney Boozer

Day Due

Updated: May 25, 2019

This morning, we had to get up early to go to breakfast and check out of our first hotel. An average Italian breakfast is so different from our usual pancakes, bacon, and eggs.


After breakfast, we had to get all of our luggage together to go to our tour of Tourin, then travel to the city of Cuneo. I looked around the hotel for everyone and I was so confused. Much to my surprise, I was late and everyone was already on the bus. (I'm always late, so it's really not a surprise.) After about an hour, we arrived in the center of Tourin and our tourguide, Matteo, was there to show us the center of the great city of Tourin. We toured the Opera House, the Royal Palace, and the Duomo of Torino.


The Opera House

My favorite location was the Duomo of Torino. The entire location was BREATHTAKING. Seeing how something could be so beautiful and so ancient was interesting because they didn't have the modern day technology that we have today. Yet, it was so much more beautiful than modern day architecture to me. I was way too scared to take pictures in the church because I'm so used to being told that being on my phone during church was appropriate, so it was just a habit.


The Holy Shroud of Jesus was also in the Duomo as well. The Holy Shroud was the blanket that they put over Jesus after he was crucified. There has been many controversy as to whether it is really Jesus or not. The Duomo also contained both a picture of the Holy Shroud and an attempt of a picture. The weird thing about this was that when they tried to develop the picture the right way, it never worked for anyone but when they did it the wrong way, it developed. Coincidence? I think not!


The Holy Shroud

The Royal Palace

After our tour, we ate pizza and walked around for a while. My prosciutto and mozzarella pizza was the best pizza that I had in my entire 20 year old life. We went to a chocolate tasting after our break and we were treated to an Italian merenda sabauda, which was our chocolate tasting. The chocolate was bitter, but that's how Italian chocolate was. I fell in love with this pretzel and amaretto pastry and my life will never be the same after eating it.


Our pastries at chocolate tasting

Italian cup of chocolate

After our tasting, we traveled to Cuneo and checked in to our last hotel. We had a beautiful dinner and we went to a bar close to our hotel called Gali. They gave us chips with our drinks and at the bar, we all realized how beautiful Italian people are.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Work It Out (But Safely)!

College is not cheap, and I have worked a lot of jobs to pay for it. When I look for a job, I look for a place that pays its employees well and offers a safe environment for them. Workplace safety is

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page